Life in These United States

I (at coffehouse bakery that’s not Starbucks): They making you guys talk about race here, too?

SCRAGGLY-BEARDED COUNTER GUY IN STOCKING CAP: Oh, God, no.

COUNTER LADY (whirling around to join the conversation): They treat them like slaves at Starbucks. That’s what they ought to talk about. I used to work there.

I: Bums.

COUNTER LADY: It’s better here.

I: Free bread, at least.

(General assent. Crosstalk about sweet rolls, temptation, and weight gain.)

I: Well, all right!

COUNTER PEOPLE: Enjoy your coffee.

I: I will.

#RacingTogether

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What do you think?

